• Theme Activation

  • ​Sometimes activation is fast and sometimes it could take a bit longer. A theme that container more content will activate slower than a theme that contains less content. The activation on a more powerful server will take less time than a theme that activated on a server with less performance (shared hosting).

    The initial content that ships with the theme will only be installed the first time you activate the theme on the site for the first time. If you re-activate the theme after is has been activated before, it will keep all content in place.

    When the theme installs, it adds additional content to the site. The existing content is kept (it only appends data). To show the old existing content on your site, you would have to update the menu that ships with the theme to show the pages/posts you created, and/or re-configure the parts like for example blog widgets, so they will display the existing posts / pages.

    The first time someone activates the theme we let the theme install the initial content that you see in the demo of the theme.​ We have thousands of theme install and I have not heard of other people disliking this behaviour. We could make it an optional thing for first activations, but without the initial content (like for example the homepage), the theme would become pretty useless. Alternative would be to ask people what to do, but that also makes things difficult/complex for first-time-users and therefore we always import the initial content (again: only the first time someone activates the theme).

    In our themes the layout of the theme itself (for example the sidebars, headers, etc.) and other configurations such as the color settings are all dynamic and configurable and therefore part of the content itself. Because of the way our themes work the preview is not available; that "content" needs to be in place before the theme can be rendered. Its therefore not possible to preview the theme without activating the theme (as during the activation of the theme that initial content/configuration is inserted on the site).

    When the theme installs, it adds additional content to the site. The existing content is kept (it only appends data). To show the old existing content on your site, you would have to update the menu that ships with the theme to show the pages/posts you created, and/or re-configure the parts like for example blog widgets, so they will display the existing posts / pages.

    You can instruct the theme to restart the site, meaning it will wipe all content from the site, and allow you to reset the theme to the initial content that ships with the theme. Note that any other content you might have on the site (except for the users), will be removed. This process is unreversible, unless you create a backup yourself first. To restart the theme, see the following support video;

    Please watch the video by clicking the icon on the right.

    If you activated a theme on your site prior to activating a new one, you will notice that switching the theme to the new one does not have any impact; it will still look the same. More than likely this is not what you were expecting, nor want. Here's a support video that explains what you need to do to resolve this; it shows how to properly switch to another WordPress theme based upon the Nexus WordPress framework.

    ​We don't allow you to swap the themes. Instead, we can refund the existing purchase and cancel the license (per the conditions as defined in our refund policy). Should you like a refund, let me know. If you feel like purchasing another theme afterwards with the new layout you can do so. NOTE; if you purchase another theme, and re-active it on a site that was using one of our other themes before, the layout remain the same. This is because in our themes the layout itself is considered content too (since you can adjust it using the front-end editor). It is possible though, to change to the new layout of the new theme, but that would require the existing elements like headers, footers and sidebars to be deleted on the system. To learn how to do that and to see how a theme switch would work, see this support video;

    Please watch the video by clicking the icon on the right.

    The turn key feature means the theme will auto-install all content you see in the demo (whether or not the images are included or not depends on the fact whether you include the photopack or not) the first time you activate the theme on your site. This means after the theme finishes activation, it will all be setup, and you are "ready to go", without requiring complex steps to get the demo content up and running (oposed to many other theme providers where you need to do that manually yourself).

    When you activate the website for the very first time, the theme will automatically install the initial layout for the site for you, so you don't need the XML file.

  • The following questions concern functions exclusively available for clients having chosen to host their website with Nexus.